Scholarship Requirements for 2011

Applicants for the NOTSL scholarships must either be currently working in an Ohio library in a professional or support position in a technical services area, or be students (residing or studying in Ohio) currently taking coursework in librarianship.

The content of the proposed educational activity must relate to technical services—cataloging, serials, acquisitions, preservation, processing, or management of technical services.  While this award may be used for short-term continuing education, it will not be awarded to pay for training required of an applicant by an employer.  Typically funded activities can include costs for workshops, conferences, coursework, professional meetings, or research towards the publication of an article or report.  Examples of organizations that provide professional development that may apply include:  Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO), NOTSL, NORASIST, Ohio Library Council, OHIONET, Ohio Valley Group of Technical Services Librarians (OVGTSL), OCLC, OhioLINK and the regional library associations (e.g., NORWELD, NEO-RLS).

Jane Myers Cataloging and Metadata Scholarship
While the terms are essentially the same as the NOTSL Scholarship, the content of the proposed educational activity must be for the purpose of technical services as it relates to cataloging.

NOTSL has historically awarded many scholarships to students to defray the costs of tuition for university courses, and will continue to do so.  However, in recognition of the current financial situation of many libraries that has resulted in reduced continuing education budgets, at least one 2011 NOTSL Scholarship will be awarded to a technical services practitioner who is seeking funding for an activity that is not a higher education library science course. Applicants should also indicate if their activity may be submitted toward the requirements for their Ohio Public Librarian Certification.  The greater the involvement in technical services librarianship, whether through work or school, the greater the preference that will be given to an applicant.  Preference will also be given to applicants from Northern Ohio.

The 2011 Scholarships apply to activities during the 2011 calendar year only.  The deadline for the 2011 award is Monday, December 6, 2010 and recipients will receive the scholarship award notification by Monday, January 17, 2011.


One Response to Scholarship Requirements for 2011

  1. […] 2011 Scholarship Requirements […]

%d bloggers like this: